Houses of the Zodiac: Introduction to 12 Bhavas of Vedic Astrology

Zodiac and the Houses

There are 12 Zodiac Signs:

  1. Aries
  2. Taurus
  3. Gemini
  4. Cancer
  5. Leo
  6. Virgo
  7. Libra
  8. Scorpio
  9. Sagittarius
  10. Capricorn
  11. Aquarius
  12. Pisces

These Zodiac signs are fixed in they sky and they rise on an average of 2 hours in the Eastern Horizon. Thereby completing 24 hours in a day, where the whole zodiac has completed one full circle. By rising, we mean the zodiac sign rising in the eastern horizon at a particular place at a particular time. The sign rising at that time will become the Ascendant or 1st house and rest follows. For example if Mr.  A was born in New York on January 20, 1997, at 11 am, then I can easily find which sign was rising in the eastern horizon at New York at that very time and date. The sign will always be rising for Mr.  A and all the houses in his horoscope will be mapped from that sign. Lets say that Sagittarius was rising then in Mr A’s horoscope his ascendant will be Sagittarius. 2nd house will be Capricorn and eventually 12th house will be Scorpio. Now-days a simple software can do it, earlier almanac and ephimeris was used to find.

The Houses

 The houses are something different than signs, as signs are the energy of the divine, houses exist here with us. The house is called Bhava in  Vedic Astrology. The Bhava means something occurring, existing, expanding and coming into reality. We can not see zodiac signs but we can see bhavas. Example: if 4th house is mother, then we can see mother. The 4th sign is not mother, not matter what sign we have in 4th house we all have mothers. Therefore a house is something which brings reality into the energy of zodiac signs. Zodiac signs are just energies of divine and how they manifest is through  the houses, that is why the houses are fixed and each represent a specific part of life. Any bad influences to any house will make that part suffer, or even can destroy the part. We die when the 1st house or what we call ascendant or lagna is destroyed. So bhavas are very important to understand.

I have experienced that so many people have wrong knowledge of houses so i have made an easy to remember chart, giving the primary meaning of each house, later we can go into advance and can map very minute details into these 12 houses as they represent an entire life. But Most important is the correct basic foundation.

Bhava Chackra
The 12 Houses (Starting from I as First House and XII as 12 House)

The above chart style is called Guru Chackra (Chart of the Great Teacher) and said to evoke blessing of sages. Please go though the above chart in detail and analyse. In this chart we start from I and go clockwise till XII.


If your facing problem in your life, in any sphere, can you map into it the above houses? How bad is the problem?  That much destruction or weakness have crept into that house.

Can we cure the house to cure the problem? Yes, but how much cure is there it depends on chart of native.

Please leave your comments and feedback below

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: